Wow I’ m amazed. . .

what happens when I open this somewhat big mouth of mine!  Last Tuesday, I had undergone a sleep study, where I’m monitored while sleeping. Initially, I get ‘hooked up’ to an EKG, EEG & other initialed tests with wires being attached to my head (my brown hair being a mild nuisance).  As this was occurring I had the room’s TV set on, I switched the station to our local PBS station (soooo love PBS!!!) where “American  Masters” was about to begin. Very cool, I wondered to myself, who’ll be featured.  An author, by the name of J. D. Salinger–sadly, I never heard of him [I know, I know, I aiming to be a writer, yet, I don’t of Salinger??  Shame on me!! Well. . .]. The technician who was attending these wires, stated that Salinger was a favorite of hers. It was mentioned on the program that Salinger wrote “The Catcher in the Rye”. I did hear of the book, but never read it[how DID I graduate from high school without knowing the American literary classics, is truly unknown to me!!!].  I made a note to buy and read this book, and I stated this to the techie. We both watched the program until she was finished ‘wiring me up’. The next morning, I left the facility, not thinking too much, but getting home.

Yesterday, I received an unexpected package. I recognized the address as being the sleep lab, but nothing more.  So, opened the package, torn onto the lovely blue tissue paper, covered comical cartoon owl stickers, and found a ‘library’ of Salinger’s works!!!  The techie gal sent them!!!  Just today, sent off a ‘thank-you’card to her.

Leave a Reply

