About being depressed. . .

This past Tuesday, it had been announced of Robin Williams’ death. I had been listening to “Intentional Living” with Dr. Randy Carlson, on Family Life Radio. He had postponed the scheduled topic to discuss what information he & others could share about depression. He had a staff member, Ron Carter who currently is depressed. A great many who are dealing with, suffering from this debilitating mental illness describe it as ‘dark and deep’. The following is meant as NO level of disrespect to those of us who are dealing with this!! The thought I had flashed on was this– “shallow, and 18% grey”! Wow, I smiled hugely [as I am now] at this!! This is how I can describe my level of depression!! The “18% grey” is a term used in film still photography. From Wikipedia –“A gray card is a middle gray reference, typically used together with a reflective light meter, as a way to produce consistent image exposure and/or color in film andphotography.”

My very last time ’round in community college, had been the process of earning a degree in fine arts, focusing (yeah, pun intended!!) on photography.

My point, I suppose, in all of this post, is that though Mr. Williams’ death is truly a tragedy, to his family, his friends, and the world; he being an incredible actor/ comic, I like to think he, too, may have gotten a smile from my “shallow & 18% grey”!! 😀 

Again, I want to be totally clear on this: I mean no disrespect to anyone who going through the ordeal of depression!  This is only a ” tee-hee” on yours truly!!

 

Plus,today would have been my dear sweet mama’s 92nd birthday!! She went to go to be with the Lord in ’86. She’s now Rejoicing In Paradise!! HALLUJAH!!!

Leave a Reply

